Connect with us


UN General Assembly elects new security council non-permanent members

UN elects Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama, and Somalia as non-permanent Security Council members to serve from 1 January, replacing outgoing members.



The United Nations General Assembly, in a session held on Thursday, elected Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama, and Somalia as non-permanent members of the Security Council. The elected nations will commence their two-year terms from 1 January next year, replacing outgoing members Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, whose terms end on 31 December.

The election required a two-thirds majority vote from the present and voting members of the 193-member Assembly. With 190 countries participating, the process concluded in a single round of balloting, highlighting strong support for the new members.

These nations will join current non-permanent members—Algeria, Guyana, the Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, and Slovenia—and the five permanent members with veto power: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The Security Council, under the UN Charter, holds the primary responsibility for maintaining international peace and security, obligating all Member States to comply with its decisions.

Seats are distributed based on regional groupings: Africa and Asia; Eastern Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Western European and other States. This year’s uncontested candidates received robust backing from their regional groups.

In the vote tally, Pakistan and Somalia secured 182 and 179 votes respectively in the African and Asia-Pacific group. Panama led the Latin America and the Caribbean group with 183 votes, while Denmark and Greece were top in the Western European and other States group with 184 and 182 votes respectively.

Responses from Newly Elected Members

Following their election, several ministers shared their perspectives and commitments:

  • George Gerapetritis, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Greece, stated, “We aspire to redefine peaceful dispute settlements and international law adherence, aiming to enhance security for children and women in conflicts and tackle global challenges like the climate crisis.”
  • Ahmed Moalim Fiqi, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Somalia, emphasized, “Somalia will bolster cooperation between the Security Council and regional organizations, including the African Union. We are ready to contribute our perspectives, experiences, and solutions to the Council’s work, particularly in maintaining peace and security in a polarized world.”
  • Janaina Tewaney Mencomo, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Panama, expressed gratitude for the international support and acknowledged the responsibility that lies ahead, particularly in navigating critical geopolitical challenges.
  • Lars Løkke Rasmussen, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark, highlighted Denmark’s commitment to global responsibility and its role in maintaining international peace and security in today’s divided world.
Share this post via:
Continue Reading
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Putin is still walking around…..Useless Nations.

Where is ICC?

A new UN needed.

And best is Sheepland has shown how to organise, allow to function an effective UN in SG, a UN of SG.

Last edited 4 days ago by The Trishaw

Somalia….a country that doesn’t even control the territory within its own borders as part of the “Security Council.”

UNbelievable. Only in the UN.

It looks like the UN is fast approaching its expiration date.