Connect with us


Prabowo-Gibran named Indonesia’s President-Vice President for 2024-2029

The Indonesian General Election Commission appointed Prabowo Subianto and Gibran Rakabuming Raka as president and vice president-elect for 2024-2029. Their inauguration is set for 20 October 2024.



Prabowo-Gibran Named Indonesia's President-Vice President for 2024-2029
Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming with General Election Commission Chairman, Hasyim Asy'ari.

INDONESIA: The General Election Commission (KPU) has officially announced the appointment of Prabowo Subianto and Gibran Rakabuming Raka as the President and Vice President-elect respectively, following the 2024 presidential election.

This decision was documented in the minutes regarding the Determination of Elected Presidential and Vice Presidential Candidates in the 2024 Election.

During an open plenary meeting held at the KPU office in Central Jakarta on Wednesday (24 April), KPU Chairman Hasyim Asy’ari declared the appointment, stating, “The General Election Commission has appointed presidential and vice presidential candidate number 2, Mr Prabowo Subianto, and Mr Gibran Rakabuming Raka as president and vice president for the period 2024 to 2029.”

Following the announcement, Prabowo and Gibran endorsed the minutes, solidifying their status as the elected leaders.

In his inaugural speech as president-elect of the 2024 election, Prabowo Subianto emphasized unity and collaboration among political leaders.

He stressed the people’s demand for harmony and cooperation, both within and outside the government.

“It’s time to work together to bring prosperity and eliminate poverty, hunger, and corruption,” Prabowo asserted, echoing the nation’s aspirations for progress and unity.

Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming secured victory in the 2024 presidential race with 96,214,691 votes, representing 58.6 per cent of the valid national vote.

In contrast, their closest contenders, Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, garnered 40,971,906 votes (24.9 per cent), while Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD received 27,040,878 votes (16.5 per cent).

The open plenary meeting witnessed the presence of various key stakeholders, including the Election Supervisory Body (Bawaslu), the Election Organizer Honorary Council (DKPP), political party leaders, and representatives from the Attorney General’s Office.

Notably, Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, the presidential and vice-presidential candidate number 1, was also in attendance.

This appointment by the KPU comes after the Constitutional Court’s dismissal of the 2024 General Election Results Dispute lawsuit filed by Anies-Muhaimin and Ganjar-Mahfud.

Their legal challenge sought to invalidate the KPU’s vote count results, which were declared on 20 March 2024, and disqualify Prabowo Subianto and Gibran Rakabuming Raka as candidates.

Following an extensive review process, the Constitutional Court’s ruling rejected the petition in its entirety.

Chief Justice Suhartoyo, while reading out the verdict on Monday (22 April) at the Constitutional Court Building in Central Jakarta, affirmed, “In the main petition, rejecting the petitioner’s petition in its entirety.”

With this legal hurdle overcome, the KPU has finalized the determination of the elected president and vice president.

Prabowo and Gibran are now set to be inaugurated on 20 October 2024 and will assume their roles as president and vice president until 2029.

Share this post via:
Continue Reading
Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments